Thursday, November 12, 2009

Enough with the idiocy of Facebook

People are idiots!
The following is a response to a Facebook post of a friend of mine who claims that she got the H1N1 flu after getting the shot 2 days before:

I would be highly amazed that you could justify your sickness to the shot seeing as how nearly all current vaccines use recombinant partial-attenuated virus (AKA never had the full virus in it) due to costs and FDA requirements (Live and heat-inactivated are only used in the run-up period). Also keep in mind that you may not have the H1N1 and your local MD isn't equipped with the RT-PCR diagnostics required to validate H1N1 away from all the other virii out there.

So I know I may have just offended a bunch of people, but hey it goes on-
With regard to some friend of mine from high school (again on FB) talking about taking all these tests to determine the sex of the child

(Her Status update) : my voodoo pee test said girl. It was the weirdest test and I wouldn't do it over again. We will see if it is right though. Crossing fingers.

Yesterday at 11:36am · ·

Person 1- I have a funny test for you, ask me about it when you see me in person
Yesterday at 11:56am
Original Poster- You have peaked my curiosity...
Yesterday at 12:01pm
Random Girl- did you check the chinese birth calendar? it was right about caleb, and wrong about leah. so 50/50...but it's been accurate with a lot of my friends!
Yesterday at 12:06pm
Original Poster- I
did the chinese birth charts. It was correct with my first two, but wrong on the third. This time is says girl, but who knows :)
Yesterday at 12:20pm
Person 1- The Argentine's believed that your baby starts to manifest it self through you. And there are certain things girls and boys do different.
Yesterday at 12:26pm
Other Random girl- I can't wait to find out if the voodoo test is accurate. How come it was weird? Or is it too graphic to write about? :-)
Yesterday at 12:27pm
Original Poster- Interesting Darwin, I am curious.

Jamie, not too graphic so I will try to explain. First there are several things you can't have. You can't have polycystic ovarian disease, no progestrone therapy for ten days, or intercourse within two days. You wait until morning for your sample. You pee in a cup and draw up 20 cc's to put into the test cup. It looks like there was glitter in it as well as other chemicals. You swish the cup for ten seconds. It has to be on a flat surface after swishing and it has to have white under it. You then have to read the test at eye level after ten minutes. If it is green, it is boy. If it is yellow/orange, it is girl. So, if I looked at any angle other than eye level it was green, but eye level it was orange. So I called their help desk and they said it was definitely a girl. Their website also said, if you don't look at eye level it will always be green because that is what the chemicals do to your urine. Freakin weird if you ask me, but we will see. They said it is 90% accurate! Hope they are right, I would LOVE a girl!!
Yesterday at 12:38pm
Well Wisher 1-
GOOD LUCK!
Yesterday at 1:11pm
Well Wisher 2- That would be so fun for you guys!
Yesterday at 2:27pm
Random Girl 3- Wowza! I've never known anyone that has taken that test...til now! That's fun stuff! I'm still sending pink babydust your way!
Yesterday at 3:03pm
Well Wisher 3-
congrats
Yesterday at 3:24pm
Well Wisher 4- I bet it will be a girl! Are you going to find out? Or just be surprised when it's born!
Yesterday at 4:05pm
Longing Girl 1-
I have 3 boys too, I hope my next one, when that happens, will be a girl too.
Yesterday at 4:25pm
Expert Girl 1- Congratulations... The sex depends on when you ovulated. i'll email you about it..... Cindy
Yesterday at 4:29pm
Original Poster- According to ovulation Cindy, we are set for a girl as well. For the risk of TMI, I will email you about it and you can see what you think :

My response follows:

I'm sorry as a trained biomedical researcher I just have to point out the obvious fact from 10th grade health class - it's not yours to decide (your husband carries X and Y, not you), as for the others...ummm of course it's a 50/50 chance of being right - there are only 2 choices (for most of us)

Seriously!?!

I wish I could explain how infuriating the idiocy of the collective is. People are dumb sheep who believe anything that someone else "heard" somewhere!!! Think people, just stop believing blindly and THINK!!!

~Chris

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Vegas and U2...a winning combination!

So as some of you may know, Chris is a moderate (cough, cough) U2 fan. So when they announced that their tour dates didn't include anywhere reasonably close to San Diego, we decided to attend the Vegas show, and meet Mike and Michelle and the kids for the show. We had GA tickets, and therefore, if we wanted to be anywhere close to the stage, had to arrive early in the day and wait. And wait and wait and wait. Fortunately, it was a beautiful day and we hung out all day with a very nice Irish family (including the dad who was about 65). We got there around 9:30 or so and got a pretty good place in line.

It wasn't until after 5 that they opened the gates, but we were able to secure a spot, and as you can see I was trying really hard to make myself take up more space than I actually do.

We were able to get inside the circle, only about 4 or 5 people away from the stage on the left hand side. Not too shabby!

Chris took about 1400 pictures (not including the ones for the Black Eyed Peas) which I had the pleasure of filtering. This one is an awesome shot of Bono and The Edge.

For one song (don't tell Chris that I don't remember which one) Larry Mullen Jr. brought out his Bongos and rocked it up with Bono on the outer circle.

But I think one of the coolest parts was when Bono pulled (quite literally) a kid out of the crowd and gave him the glasses off his face. I dare say that Napoleon will forever be a moderate (cough, cough) fan of U2. If not, I say shame on him.

When the band came back out for the encore Bono was wearing this ridiculous jacket. If anyone has suggestions for photographing a moving subject wearing red lasers, so as to not make the subject look like an explosion, please, I'm all ears.

All in all it was an awesome show, I never knew how much fun being right up against the stage with a million strangers could be. I'm definitely ready to go back and see them again!


Disneyland way back when...(okay so only like a month ago...)


So back in October we went up to Disneyland to check out all of the Halloween decorations.

First thing we saw when we pulled into the parking structure: Disneyland is full. Ummm...I guess we'll try anyway? Fortunately enough people had exited the park by the time we got to the gate that we were able to go in. We watched the cool villain firework show and fantasmic...unfortunately those pictures are still on our other computer and I haven't tried real hard to find them. Oh well.
But here are some of the pictures from Saturday, including Chris's Hipster team captain.

Also, as we were driving home we became enveloped by a thick coastal fog. Cool.

Friday, October 16, 2009

I need one of these...

Plan to buy one of these after I get a real job...

(Don't worry Lish will let me- only rule is she has to be able to drive it when she wants)


~ Chris

Monday, October 12, 2009

Hate "Photos" and "Photogs"!?!

So before I delve in to the finer points of this I was just thinking again of how much I hate the proliferation of the sub-$1000 dSLR camera- that and how ridiculous everybody who owns a Canon Rebel neckstrap is. BTW- don't flaunt it it's not a freaking d series and even then I don't know that I would tout it as all that unless it at least holds a mark moniker (mk II or MkIII). Now before everybody gets in a fit and lynches me you should know where I'm coming from.

dSLR does not equal professional photographer.

B&W is a type of picture that you specifically compose to- NOT a FILTER on photoshop.

Holga is a type of camera with a very artistic value to it- NOT a BOX you click on photoshop.

Oh yeah, and photoshop is to help fix small imperfections and minor adjustments NOT a compensation because you suck at photos.

So why the ridiculous hate? Well see I've had a lot of people that I am connected to get married in the last year or two, as such everybody posts all these photos online - via FB or blog or flckr or you-name-it. Then I see other people gushing about how awesome they are and how they're the best wedding photographer in the world, etc. ad infinitum. This is fine and all, until I start seeing how crappy this stuff is and how much of it is 20 something girls that daddy bought them a camera and they have a macbook Pro so they can charge an arm and a leg and then take these senseless photos, add B&W effects or add a Holga Vignetting and say it's art. It's NOT!!!

I'm not a great photographer, and I don't really like/do well with wedding pictures, but that being said I'm not charging thousands of dollars either. I have shot a total of 3 (?) weddings and I have never done any of it as a pro. It was always as a favor or as an honor to be able to take some pictures for a friends wedding. That being said I am insulted as an enthusiast and friend of multiple professional photographers when I see the crap that is put on FB and flckr. Really you took the dumbest photo and then not only did you make it black and white but then you included the color one so that everyone knows that it's not really a B&W, or maybe you included both the B&W and the sepia tone wash - dear stupid do you even know what a sepia wash is? or how it's done??? (besides the obvious, "Well I click here and it does it- ta da!!")

To me black and white is the best looking form of art there is (now I know I am wrong, but this is my opinion). And to see it corrupted by idiots makes me sick. Think of it this way - most professionals spend years shooting Black and White heck some of them never leave it, but I guarantee you that all of them know how to shoot it. Furthermore, every person who takes a real photo class starts in B&W. This is where you learn the fundamentals, this is where you learn how a darkroom works, keys, tones, pushing, pulling, etc. you learn how to really take a good picture and yet somehow the lack of people knowing the basics seems to make them pros and leads to crap for photos.

If I offended you well I hope you can look past it, if you're really offended lemme know (not that I will do much about it, but maybe we can talk and I can show you what I mean). Otherwise always ask to see a professional's film cameras to know how they're digital stuff is.
Trust me a $500 dSLR is not a camera that you want as the main camera for your wedding- the sensor is too small and it may be 60 megapixels but that number means next to nothing- I know 6MP cameras that outshoot nearly everything else there is.

Chris

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Wonderful Day!

So I didn't have high hopes for Disneyland yesterday. Disneyland has recently introduced a monthly payment plan for SoCal residents so the park has been more slammed than usual. When we went on Chris's birthday, we didn't ride a single thing and left about mid-day because there were so many people. So when we pulled up Monday evening and had to park on the ground floor in the parking structure I was worried. Really worried, because that seemed to indicate that all the other floors were full. But much to our dismay...there was hardly anyone in the park. We were able to watch the fireworks while riding Big Thunder Mountain (really cool by the way).
But I didn't dare hope that Tuesday would be as empty as Monday night, and as we waited 25 minutes to get into the parking structure I was not very hopeful.
But as we got to space mountain and the wait said 10 minutes...my hopes started to rise. And when we were able to ride 3 times in 30 minutes life seemed pretty good (besides the fact that I had the day off and got to spend the whole day with Chris). Only bad thing? The ride broke as we were about to get on for the 4th time. I just wish it would have waited 5 more minutes. (It's a life-long goal for Chris and I to see space mountain with the lights on). Oh well.
After space mountain broke, we headed to splash mountain and got there right as it broke down. Then we walked onto pirates, got my birthday gift card and went to eat at the Blue Bayou. By the way, definitely good, but I would save it for a special occasion. After we were done eating the server brought out a chocolate mousse with whipped cream and mickey mouse sprinkles. It was amazing!
Then we decided to head out to avoid getting stuck in traffic on the way home and spent the evening relaxing and trying not to bake.
Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes!

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Follow me, I'm trained to survive this

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/8206280.stm

So the good news is my years of video game training have made me fully prepared for the inevitable future.

Friday, August 14, 2009

Beat Down

So I had my annual committee meeting yesterday. Didn't go quite as I had hoped for. The good news coming out of all of this is that I am meeting again in three months to finalize my graduation date... that is good. The bad part is i have to really crank it out to ensure that I have good enough data at that meeting that I can sell them on an end-of-the-year/early next year date. We will see. In the mean time I don't think I've ever felt so abused in my whole life as I sat there talking to my committee. I should feel honored that they think what they do about my work and what I can do while I'm still here. Really? Really? Gee I sure do feel honored that you want me to build a second presentation and give it to you in three months. I feel extra honored that you guys can't even decide how much time I need to finish. I have a 2-1-2 split as to whether I'll be done in the next 4 months. 2 say yes, 2 say no, 1 says he can't decide. WOW! Seriously? WOW!

Well no matter what I'm done in 6 months tops but I'm hoping more towards 4- time will tell.

~Chris

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Lamentations

Yeah we were so busy on Saturday night that we didn't even take any pictures. The tournament was a success, the stage was rockstar-worthy, the crowd was singing along. It was AWESOME. Too bad about the pictures. My hope is to secure some from some of the "official" cameras, or at least someone else. I also plan to draw up the awesomeness that was the stage. Oh, well. Hopefully there will be other chances to do something similar.

Friday, August 7, 2009

It's time to Rockband Tourney!

So tomorrow night is tourney time. We're helping out with a huge YSA activity (think LA and south) y helping host a HUGE rockband tourney. We'll be sure to take lots of photos and try to get some posted up to the blog. In a worst case secenario we may just do another Picasa album. Anyway I have successfully found the best prizes EVER for our contenders.

How about these:


Video in action at:


Yeah they're about the best thing in the whole world. Perfect for the 18-30 year old dedicated enough to win Rockband.

If you guys have any other ideas of things to include in the tourney I'd love to know.

Oh yeah before I forget I got one of THESE to help with the "effect"

Check out the video here.

Btw- for future reference Fog juice is able to be purchased Year Round at Party City (yeah I really had to find Fog Juice).

Cheers
~Chris

Monday, August 3, 2009

Wedding Pics

So if anyone is interested in scrolling through the 600+ pics that Chris took at Tim (Alicia's little bro)'s wedding. Feel free to drop us a message and we'll be happy to send you the link. Keep in mind there are no comments on the pics so you may not recognize most (all) the peeps in the shots, but it's good fun to look at some of the awesome moments frozen in time.

Must have this shirt


Need I say more than the title?

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Time to Re-Rock

Yup so 2 bands that we'll be seeing later this fall have released packs of songs on Rockband this week, and it looks to be some must haves for the Larsons. blink-182 and Weezer have both released packs...which makes me wonder: Would these be good songs to have for the YSA conference we're helping with next weekend? Thoughts from the peanut gallery (BTW- YSA=Young Single Adult church group). The songs are:

Weezer- Pork and Beans
My Name is Jonas
Undone (The Sweater Song)

blink-182- Down
Feeling This
The Rock Show

My 2 cents:
My Name is Jonas is my favorite weezer song, but not exactly the rock-a-thon that I come to look for in a good RB song. Down is a kinda slow blink song too. The Rock Show is about as basic pop-punk as you can get which always lends itself to a great play... who knows!?!

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Tonight We Music

So the tonight we ride post is kinda misleading as it is still 3 weeks away, that being said tonight for reals we're headed to another wonderful Summer Pops on the Bay concert. Looking forward to some VGL performances and who knows maybe some guest conductors... Anyway they don't allow cameras so no pics, but that being said they don't really check either. Well I'm off to work hard.

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Tonight We Ride!

Yeah so it's that time again. What time you may ask? Well time, of course, for the annual Midnight Madness Bike Ride through San Diego. It's coming up on August 15th (that's a Saturday). We're getting stoked and of course not doing anything to be prepared (it's always better that way). So if you're interested in coming out to ride with us let one of the two of us know and we'll get the details squared away. Also if you're from out of town and want to ride with us I'm pretty sure we can put up a few people in the apt for the evening (yes I am epecially directing this to residents of North O-Town). In the mean time I'm gonna have to figure a way to mount the bike racks on to the Yakima Bars... hmm I'm sure I can make this work some how...

~Chris

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

MIA

For those of you who haven't heard nor seen me much in the last month (year, decade) (and yes this includes my wife some weeks)- I have to say that I wish I was aroud more. I feel like I've been working way too many hours this last year and I don't even have the progress to match. The good and the bad of all this is that I am making inroads toward an end. I am hoping that 6 months is the magic number. After that it's a quest to find a job. I will keep everyone posted but in the mean time if you're really bored and wondering what's new you can always email me as I have lots of meetings and lots of time to respond to email.

Later-
Chris

Monday, July 13, 2009

Buzz...

So while we were at Disneyland this last week I was reminiscing as we were riding the Astroblasters and realized that I never shared my skills on the blog... This is from a while ago when my score actually made the high scoreboard for the day...

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

New car!

So as some of you may know, about three weeks ago I got into a car accident which ended in a totaled Aveo. Thankfully, I wasn't hurt and it wasn't my fault. So here are some pictures of the new car we got last week. This won't be the final product..the dealership still has to put a spoiler on the back and tint the windows for us, but we finally found everything we wanted (4 doors, manual tranny, sunroof) and got a great deal.

Friday, May 8, 2009

Must Own- NOW!!!

How did I ever survive without one of these:


All I can say is I want that!

~Chris

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

What happens in Vegas...

Is gonna be shared by everyone as I am proud to announce that we did, in fact, get tix to the U2 show at Sam Boyd Stadium. Even better is that we got GA field tix, meaning I have plans to get some nice up close pix of Bono again. Yeah I'm sorry if it sounds like I'm bragging but I just can't hold it back. I'm going to Vegas to bowl and see my favorite band...WAHOOO!!!!!!!!!

Monday, April 13, 2009

Moving.

So rather than try to call every person separately to tell them I'll just spill the beans here:
We're moving back up to La Jolla, we're hoping that I can get to work faster when I need to, and that we won't have as bad of neighbors this time - thank you idiot that washed a pack of smokes in the washing machine and then dried them too. So yeah if you missed us in Mission Hills, now is the chance to see us in our bigger place up in La Jolla again. Oh yeah and it has a pool, hot tub, and I get a BBQ (Lish said so).

Chris

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Down with the Dentist!

So I officially do not like my dentist. I hadn't been in 7 years, so I expected to need some work. But really? Today, while reading a story to my kids at work, my temporary crown fell off. I just don't think that that is supposed to happen. I'm supposed to get my permanent crown next Tuesday, but when I called today to see if they could just put the permanent one on, they said they didn't have it yet. when I originally got the temporary crown, they told me they usually get them in a couple weeks. That was 3 weeks ago and they still don't have it. So now I have to take time off today to get the temporary one back on, then again on Tuesday to get the permanent one. This is all on top of the filling that they did 2 months ago that still hurts when I eat and all of the problems Chris has had. My advice to all of you is to never go to this dentist. He is not good.

Monday, March 9, 2009

It's tour time!

So it's called the 360 degree tour and I'm getting ready to go. That's right U2 is touing again and I can't wait to get my tickets. Oh, yeah for the 5 of you who maybe didn't know - I'm kinda a U2 junkie. In the meantime (Cause the tour is gonna be awhile in the making) I'm just gonna keep on enjoying the new album.

Chris

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

One Tree Hill/BAD part 2?

So as everyone is well aware I am a huge U2 fan and have been listening to NLOTH for a few days now. I've decided that there is very much a past influence on this album. Example: Unknown Caller sounds like the child of BAD (TUF) with One Tree Hill (TJT). Wow, no wonder I like this so much. Stuff sounds old and new all at once. Man I love this album.

Chris

NLOTH

Yup another acronym to nothing. U2 strikes again with the new album, "No Line on the Horizon."

3 words: Get it, NOW!

I've spoken with several people who aren't totally sold on it. Get it. I've heard it more than half a dozen times now, it just keeps getting better. I wasn't into the whole album at first, it is a heck of a lot more subtle than HTDAAB but far more aggressive than ATYCLB (told you they were into random acronyms). I heard it described best as, a modern rendition of, "The Unforgettable Fire." Yeah kinda, only with a huge rock infusion into it. Think of it as TUF meets HTDAAB with hints of, "Achtung Baby," "Zooropa," and "Pop," tossed in for good measure. It's unique and I can hear Lanois and Eno's influence. Again I wasn't so sure at first but now I'm a total convert.

One last note for everyone: Do yourself a favor. Listen to this on a real stereo. One that has speakers bigger than 4". No computer speaker set, nor MP3 player and accompanying headset can do justice to the small intricacies that are present. It rocks when it wants and makes you want to cry at other times.

What more can I say? I've got a submarine, you got gasoline.

- As a side note it should be noted that Eno and/or Lanois was present in all of the albums I mentioned as being a mashup of.

Monday, March 2, 2009

I'm just not buying...

So Chris and I were at the local Disney outlet, where they sell leftover merchandise from Disneyland at a greatly reduced rate. These are a couple of the items that were for sale. I don't think I could ever buy either of them.


Thursday, February 12, 2009

I Forgot how much I LOVE Red Alert


Woooooo! That's all I can say.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Let the Ags keep rolling

This is now 6 days old but still a great one from USA Today. I'm glad to see USU finally getting the national recognition that they deserve. They were almost this good in 03-04 and we never heard a peep. So glad to see the name finally popping up everywhere. I want to have my friends here complain about how much they're sick of hearing about USU, cause heaven knows I'm sick of hearing about some of the other schools. 

Also as an update you may notice that we're now 21/17 (AP/ESPN,USA). Way to go aggies.

Chris

Friday, February 6, 2009

Utah State, Hey, Aggies All the Way!

So always nice to see that the Alma mater is doing so well (Ranked 22/25 according to USA and AP). In fact they're getting more respect than they have in years past. Yes the move to the WAC was rough but it appears that it has really paid off in spades. Just as a heads up here are some links to great articles about USU:

http://espnradio.espn.go.com/espnradio/podcast/index - the Andy Katz podcast has Stew Morrill on the last 5 minutes.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/recap?gameId=290360328 - about the game last night.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/columns/story?id=3804469
- one of the better stories about the skill of USU.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/clubhouse?teamId=328
- check the headlines on the left side for more great articles.

Also for those of you, who like us are outside of Utah you may want to check out espn360.com they stream quite a few of the games. If not the team website has a link to the radio broadcasts for every game.

Go Aggies, Go Aggies, Hey, Hey, HEY!!!

~Chris

Friday, January 30, 2009

For your misbehaviour you get...

THE DRILL!
Yup so Lish and I are finally getting around to doing all that dental stuff that should have been done years ago. As a result we both have fillings to deal with (Alicia's first ones ever), amongst the simple fact that dentists just are unpleasant. I don't like the taste of latex, thanks anyway though. So I'd rather you NOT keep sticking your glove in my mouth, or at least put the mint wax on first so I don't have to think about lab all the time that you're torturing me. Cause lemme tell you something, if you think going to the dentist is bad enough, try having to endure that while being comstantly reminded that you're going to work in about an hour's time. Uggh.
Oh well it's mostly done so maybe for the next 6 months I can sleep at night... maybe.

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Three Things in Common

Work. Sleep. Church. Plus one more. Anything fun. These are all things that are made miserable by having a cold. I feel like I've been sick since Thanksgiving with one thing or another and i'm really tired of it. I think I may be getting depressed. Or maybe I have strep. Or maybe I just work with two year olds who for the life of them cannot figure out how NOT to sneeze or cough in my face. Grrr. That's how I feel right about now.
~Alicia

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Three things in common

Work, Sleep, Church. All are things that consume way more time than I would like to admit. Now I know that many of you would like to argue that sleeping is time well spent. I would disagree. If I could come up with a way to sleep even less than I already do (around 5-6 hours a night), I would be in heaven. I could do more of what I want and yet still get my "beauty sleep." So the reason I bring this up is that I am starting to really feel the grind. The callings at church are eating at me, the work load is trying to bury me and to top it all off, at the end of a long exhausting day I have to go to bed. The way I  see it, if I could instead spend 1/2 an hour with Lish getting ready for bed and then I could get more work done or even play some games then I would be a more balanced person... ahh if only. 
In the mean time if anyone knows a way to balance more things on a plate lemme know how. I'm dying to do whatever else I can.

Chris

Friday, January 9, 2009

Solution

So as I posted earlier I am having issues with work not working. (Experiments not succeeding). So now I find myself (with the company of Lish) dealing with said issues- by working at lab till like 10 tonight!!! yeah this sucks!

Lack of desire

So I'm in dire grounds here. I found out today that my project (at least a part) isn't working right. Hmm seems bad. Real problem here is that I just don't care today. Yeah it's a Friday at 3:45 and I figured out that I should be in all weekend working on solutions. Instead I'm trying to figure out where I can surf this weekend. I may be seriously screwed if I can't get my lack of motivation figured out by next Monday. That means I have 2 1/2 days to figure out how to get the ganas to fix my problem. Hmmm.... could be a REALLY long weekend of inner thoughts and outer pains. In the mean time I have planned to play videogames and let Lish rest since she's been sick for the last week. Anyone feeling bored and want to play?

Chris

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Is anyone more creative than me?

Okay...so here is a picture of a car that Chris and I often see during our commute. I just can't figure out what they meant their license plate to say. I've got only one solution and I can't imagine that anyone would want to advertise that. Let me know if you come up with something.



(If you can't read it the license plate reads "CUPCKBT")

You sir, are an absolute DUCK!

So I am going to use some harsh words in the next few sentences after which I am going to post a comment that was left regarding our post from last night.
Some tool of a person who is quite possibly the biggest dirt monkey I've ever met left some anonymous post on the comments section (I have since deleted it) but seriously!?! Who are you and how pathetic are you that you go in and personally write some of these comments, after which, I might add, you then act like you know me and that we're some how buddies. Best part is that obviously he's a retard and a tool b/c he refers to school (something that is never posted in my blog) and then he goes on to leave some post about some UK website reuniting people (cause I know SOOOOO many people in the UK). WOW! Some people... Thanks Buddy!

Blogger Reuniting Friends said...

Great post buddy ....Really the school days are the best days of life...The content of the post was really nice...we are trying to reunite school friends through our website to share their fond memo

BTW-I'm glad that he likes the "content of my post" too bad I can't say the same for him!

Chris

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Long Lost Friends

So over the past few years we've made and left some great friends and I've been quite possibly the world's second worst person at staying in contact (Lish is first cause, um.... yeah, she just is) with everyone. So if you've found our blog it means you actually remember us- if yo're dying to know more just drop us a line in the comments section (please for your own privacy you don't have to post your e-mail addy) and we're gonna really strive to get in contact with everyone- it'll be great!!! Anywho, in the mean time just feel free to read on about our lives and the rants that I so often post.

~Chris

Sick

So Lish and I have been swapping colds back and forth for the last month or so...talent is that we're both now sick with something very similar. Lucky us! if you're wondering what the cause of the illness is- we know with certainty that it is NOT strep throat (ask Lish about this one) and also it is NOT depression (although the tests are inconclusive) rumor has it the local NP may know what it is - just go ahead and ask her her opnion, she'll be glad to help you out.
So what is this cryptic message? Well see Lish figured out, finally, what I've been complaining about for years- Nurse Practitioners (95% of them at least) are full of crap - you're are NOT an MD, you are not Board Certified in the same way, and you DO need to listen to your patients and how they describe their symptoms- believe it or not they may actually know what they feel inside or what color their own mucus is!!!

Saturday, January 3, 2009

Freakin' Freezin'

Yeah it's cold here and if you don't think 50 is cold try rain, fog, no heaters and NO INSULATION!!! Apparently as the US economy goes down the crapper (there is a better name for this just watch till about minute 50 of National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation), anyway as I was saying- as the economy tanks so does the exchange rate on sunshine dollars- heck at this rate it may be sunnier in Seattle before the beauty returns to SD.

Chris

Friday, January 2, 2009

Holidays

So Christmas has come and gone, as has New Years. To everyone who we weren't able to talk to - hope you had a great holiday. To everyone who sent us cards and gifts- thank you very much. Sorry that we didn't get a ard out- after some discussion we just never made it happen. So is our life. Best of intentions, worst of executions. Just ask our neice and nephew whom received Birthdays and Christmas at the same time (fine and all except that their birthdays are in the summer). Anywho, we're diong fine, working hard and hope to post some pictures soon.

~C and A

Monday, December 8, 2008

An Invitation

So I'm tired of being warned when I get onto the blog. So now I'll invite you all to read our thoughts instead. You don't have to, but you are welcome to. Anyway. Today an F-18 crashed into some houses about 10 minutes away from where I work. Cool. N0t cool for the houses and families that suffered, but cool, a fighter jet crashed in the neighborhood. The pilot ejected and landed on a baseball field at a nearby high school. Cool.

Friday, November 7, 2008

A WARNING

I've tried very diplomatically to dance around the issues of this election year. Including B-Rock Obama, John McCain, Sarah Fey, and Joe "The Plumber" Biden, amongst other things like Prop 8, Prop 1a, 4, and the TON of other crap in SD. But it's over, and now the real fights begin.

So Let It Be Known:

This is MY BLOG, a place where Lish and I can post as we will, as such I'm gonna start flying the flag of Amendment 1. Yup, I claim freedom to worship how I will and freedom to publish what I will, you don't like it- leave!

I was once taught that freedom of speech is not so that you can say what you want, it's so that the other guy can say all the things that offend YOU. Part of the rules of the US is that we can and should say what is our opinion, who you listen to and what you do after is your own choice.

~Chris

Let the nastiness begin

So people are very upset that Prop 8 passed ( I intend to address this in more detail over the next few days) but more ironic is that now, while preaching equality they decide to become hostile...

A story in the LA Times shows that the LDS faith will become the main focus of hatred by those who oppose prop 8. Not the first time that people have decided that LDS people have too much ability to influence elections. Irony here is in the form that so many other churches, including the Catholic church supported prop 8, but hey why hate on them...

Whatever the end result I can tell you this. I am proud to be a member of the LDS church, I am proud of the fact that I supported prop 8, and if you honestly think that my freedom to choose my way is so reprehensible, and causes you so much disdain, than maybe you need to consider moving to a place where the public opinion doesn't matter. Cause last time I checked the public in CA twice has said that they don't feel that homosexual marriage should be legal. And that is enough for me.

~Chris

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

So there was a little electon yesterday...

As you may know I'm in the minority of all of my friends down here b/c A) I am republican and B) I support many of the moral propositions. Yes I know that there is a great argument as to what is moral and whatnot but I won't discuss that here. The great part about America is just that I don't have to agree with you. You don't have to agree with me...

That being said a good friend of mine had this on her blog and I couldn't help but laugh as I am a huge muppet fan:

Monday, October 27, 2008

One of those Weeks

You ever have one of those Mondays that you know is just setting you up for a seriously rough week- well mine started yesterday (that's right Sunday) and I don't think it's gonna let up till next week some time. Ouch, that's all I have to say is OUCH!

Chris

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Sick of the Lies and the Hate

You know by now that CA is embroiled in this interesting Prop 8 scenario. What most of our friends else where don't know is how deceitful many of the tactics of explaining prop 8 are. I'm gonna take the time later to explain a bit of what I've noticed but in the mean time, I found these two videos on You Tube that I thought were great examples of the dangers to the future generations and their understanding of the great institution of marriage if prop 8 fails.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gkv6miGIcTU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLGn_F1uTEo

Chris

Monday, October 13, 2008

Sweet - that's all I can say

I need to say thanks to Natalie Kardos for the link:

I Want THAT!

A real interesting read

A friend of ours is keeping a very interesting blog here. I have been meaning to post some interesting stuff I"ve learned about prop 8 but in the mean time... enjoy this read.

Friday, October 10, 2008

YES on 8

I support prop 8 for many reasons, the main one being that I believe marriage between a man and a woman is ordained of God. There are other substantial reasons, to see some of them try the following links:
http://preservingmarriage.org
http://protectmarriage.com

Friday, October 3, 2008

Bullet dodged

So I didn't get picked for jury duty. In fact, I didn't even get to go to a courtroom. Instead, I had to sit in the jury lounge room till almost 3:00 PM. I would have rather been at work. So boring. Oh well, I'm off the hook for at least 19 more months (if you're unsure how tha works, I'll be happy to provide you with insight).
Chris

Thursday, October 2, 2008

Post-lunch...

Time for a new game to pass the day. We're gonna play "fat guy, head nod" rules are very simple look at the 350 lb fat guy and watch him get the head nods (you know cause we all want to be asleep). Then count how many violent nod/jerk awakes he has in 2 minutes. Then guess will it be more or less in the next 2 minutes. Give it a try and post your results in the comments section.

Bored stupid

Yeah so here I sit they've still only called 1 group away and lunch is setting in, worse yet is that I may have to sit around here after lunch too. I just don't want to be here- its a sad situation as to how slow they are and how sparse they are with information. A simple go home would be nice.

Jury duty - the waiting game

Now is the most brutal part I've been waiting for over an hour. They've called out 1 group of like 60 people and that's it! Seriously!?! Excuse me, I have better things to do, may I be excused? Great, thanks, see you later.
If only...

Side note

The old guy has a great halting speech that invokes William Shatner only 20 years older. I want him to say, "my jurors, my little jurors." maybe I can get him to do my voicemail a la "wait wait, don't tell me." oh here's the other jury story he tells... Sweet I'm 2 for 2!

Jury duty pt. 2

So a couple years ago when I got called to jury duty there was this old judge whose job it was to tell is how privelaged we are to serve. So ithought by now he might have died (lish had confirmed in feb that he was still around). Turns out nope he's still around even now- cause guess what, he's currently telling me the exact same story that I'm pretty sure he told me 3 years ago. But that being said they have a new movie that they show at the start, too bad they don't serve popcorn...

Jury duty

So here I am stuck at the "Hall of Justices" hoping that its not my turn to do my civic duty. Yup that's right I have to report to jury duty. So my plan for the day is to keep you posted as I endure through what I hope you will be a short day.

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Published

About time! So I finally got my manuscript finished, organized, pushed through the correct number of hoops, and so now I submitted it to publication- only thing left is to wait for reviewers to tell me what to fix... in the mean time- even better news is that I got published today!!! Yup different manuscript I was only a co-author on this one, but still I got published! Feels nice to finally see some fruits to my labors. October could be a good month...

~Chris

Friday, September 12, 2008

September already?!?!?!

Okay, beside the fact that I'm tired of looking at me and zucchini, I'm going to update the blog. I'm not sure where the summer went, but when my birthday flew by, I knew I'd missed it. But hey give me credit, it's hard to tell it's summer in San Diego. When it never really gets above 80 for more than a couple days, it's easy to miss. But alas, summer is gone. Looking back, we did quite a bit, but mostly just worked. A lot. We spent the early part of the summer with me being stressed about my job, then that subsided for a while. Then we went on the pioneer trek, the best and worst experience I've had in a long time, but would definitely do again. (just imagine...three tour busses filled with teenagers for a week...) Then we came back and worked. Chris finally had some big success at work, finishing off one of his specific aims for his thesis. I then started being stressed about work as I applied for and prepared to interview for the job I'm already doing. (One of the benefits of working at a university and being union) After having my interview postponed 5 times, I've finally interviewed and I just have to wait for them to decide whether I got the job or the other person they interviewed. As the HR lady said, "we have to do a competitive interview process, and you can't compete against yourself." How does she know, anyway? Hopefully I'll have good news soon...

Thursday, August 21, 2008

And zucchini steaks for all...

So Alicia and I are vegetable lovers. Love to eat them, prepare them, even the smell of steamed vegetables is good to me. So that being said even I have a finite limit to my love of all things green. So when our friends Kate and Jeff offered us a zucchini out of their garden we immediately said yes. Unbeknown to us was the sheer volume of said zucchini. It was so big that we didn't even know what to do with it- so to bread it went, with some other assortments being made before having to chuck some. Fine, dandy, life goes on. Then after the trek we got another one- cool I could go for some veggies. Problem was, three days later Kate offloaded another half a zucc on me. So what you might ask? Well see it's not the number it's the size!
Below is a single section of one of the zucc steaks that I had to cut so that we could do stuff with them.









Needless to say they're HUGE! Yeah that 1st picture, that's a US quarter next to it.
So we made some lasagna featuring zucc, and then w still had ~10 cups of zucc left so we shredded it. Who knows what we'll make with it next!
Oh and btw- we still have a whole zucc left to deal with.

~Chris

Below are some pics of Lish prepping the zucc.

Friday, August 15, 2008

Rockin' it up in the coffee shop

Just like a Friends episode gone awry, I find myself hanging out at the coffee shop listening to one of my friends play away on the impromptu stage.
Always a good way to pass the time on a Friday night. It works out for the better because then I can get to sleep for Saturday morning surf club! Ahh, the life of a bored couple that doesn't get much sleep anymore.

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Plans...rethunk

So I always thought it might be fun to have twins one day. Then I taught 4 year olds. I could handle 12 at once, twins would be easy. Then I taught 2 year olds. Again, 2 at once, no problem. Then I went on the trek. No more twins. I just don't think I would make it through the teenage years. Heck, 1 at a time might be pushing it. Oh, and kudos to all those who have survived parenting teenagers (and mom and dad, you'll never know how easy you had it).

Saturday, August 9, 2008

The sweetness of Barstow, CA

So its 11 pm and we just drove past the linwood exit. Hmm never has barstool looked so good as when they said 2.5 hours to San Diego

Lost? Wish I could lose a kid or two

So here we are finally headed home from our trek we have had a good time mixed with all sorts of craziness - some of which I would never believe had I not been there myself. So the plan right now is survive the 12 hour ride home and then over the next week we'll post up the whole thing along with some sweet pics

Thursday, July 31, 2008

Congrats to Danny and Darcie!

So I'm a little slow, but I wanted to just say congratulations to my brother and his wife, who just had their second baby last Friday. Here is a picture of Darcie, Mary and Derrick.

Thursday, July 24, 2008

Live Blogging a Lab Meeting- Take II

So this time I'm going to live blog one of the other researchers in the lab- a lady by the name of Rouhi.

8:30 - She balks at the absence of people so she says we will wait.
8:39 - She complains that there are not enough people but we start anyway.
8:40 - She has a diagram of a standard cell with a partial outline of the Cu transport pathway. She is attempting to explain the pathway.
8:42 - An all too familiar picture of ATP7B is shown - she is talking about the domains. Certain "key" residues are pointed out.
8:46 - Discussion of xenografts
8:47 - Now she's talking about her published papers - is this gonna be all her talking about what she's done? Hmm seems like she may be taking advantage of the fact that Steve's not around.
8:48 - ATPase activity is pH dependent. Hmm.
8:49 - Dr. X is questioning how she characterized certain aspects of the paper- she gives an unclear answer. He pursues and she kinda dances around it- he gives up and lets her go on.
8:50 - Km and Vmax is discussed (I for one don't buy it, but I'm too busy typing to interfere)
8:51 - She's talking about an ex-coworker that tried to do molecular weight shift assays. She is very fast to criticize all those she had working under her, and fast to mumble defense of her work.
8:55 - She shows some kinetics that suggest that maybe it moves DDP- seems very unclear and non-specific
8:57 - She refers to Brian and his clones. Says that they've just been following what he did.
8:58 - Talks about the pMal-ATP7B complxex and how she has helped him purify it.
8:58 - NMR (only need 5 mg of protein- is that all- only takes 5 L of media! Oh yeah, and like a month of non-stop work)
9:01 - She's now showing Mohammed's work and all the gels that he ran. I decide to ask about what appears to be a weight shift- I am told that even though it's higher it's not anything. Hmm...
9:03 - She is asked about cross-linking and non-specific by Dr. X. Again she says well that isn't a problem.
9:05 - She has the NMR data up and is fumbling through what she obviously doesn't know.
9:08 - She has a figure out of a new paper and is unsure what it is but is trying to say that it shows that the 7B is rigid with Cu and 7A is not. She says that she hasn't read the paper but this is what it tells s (don't ask how she knows that).
9:10- Cu and DDP bind similarly to 7B. She is telling us where she's headed next.

And that's it another shorty- man I love these (esp. since the last one was almost an hour and a half).

Live blogging a lab meeting

So I thought I'd give a few people an idea of what I do every Thursday. I decided to live blog a lab meeting.

8:35 - We arrive in room, there are a noticeable amount of seats missing
8:37 - Projector turns on, we wait
8:39 - Brian introduces the topic, DMT1
8:40 - Figure #2 comes up first, he explains that the order is to help us understand, not necessarily exactly how they were published
8:41 - DMT1 seems to control Cu (I) and Fe (II) transport
8:42 - Figure #3. Ascorbate controls the uptake of Cu AND Fe (III)
8:43 - The "more important" figures - figure #4 - As you treat with more Fe you actually decrease the amount of Fe being taken up over 60 mins, same thing with Cu
8:44 - "The money shot." Using Antisense to DMT1, to decrease DMT1 presence, you get a decrease in not only Fe, but also in Cu.
8:45 - Brian pines for a marker (oops, I forgot to grab those). He starts to explain that DMT1 may be another player in not only Cu but also in moving DDP (we know there are other transporters b/c CTR1 -/- still move DDP). Seems that DMT1 is expressed on the cell surface and also in the exosomes.
8:46 - There may be competition between CTR2 and DMT1 in the fight to accumulate DDP and Cu. First plan of attack is to run and SRB or two to get a baseline to see if there is increased accumulation. Then maybe do some uptake studies.
8:47 - That's it! Wow that was SHORT! Nice job, Brian.


**Note this happened on the 17th of June- I just finally got it posted.

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Stuck on a bus - part 1

So, awhile back Lish and I decided to both start taking the UCSD free shuttle they offer from the Hillcrest hospital up to the main campus (La Jolla)(I alone used to ride the shuttle and Lish drove), and usually we have good luck with the occasional problem of a stupid driver. Problem is the new batch of drivers just started for the year... Survey says: they suck! We have more break downs and missed buses as a result of the change than I can even begin to describe. The major offender is evidenced in the title of this blog. Yup 7 am and I'm on the side of the 5 north waiting to be picked up. Ain't nothing better! In fact I'm not sure there exists a better way to start your day. It is the ultimate commuter wake up. So I guess the question is why do voluntarily we keep taking the shuttle? Well see its free, and that means all the more money for investing and less wear and tear on Blue Steel. But the trade off is that for every 50 good rides you get an average of 1 bad one. So that brings is back full circle to the title: stuck on the bus. Really I don't think I'd mind if the driver was cool about it-but he's not. In fact quite the opposite from the way he's going on you'd think it was OUR FAULT his bus broke down.
This brings me to the other point I ran to get on the bus this morning- no not because I was late but because he left 5 minutes early (verified by people I know that missed said bus). Worse: I ended up running, having to stand on the bus, and then in the end I still had to get picked up by the bus I could have been sitting on peacefully had I not been in such a hurry to get to work! WHY OH WHY do you leave early (not even consistently early where I can count on it)!?!
Anyway- moral of the story is this: I'm stuck on the bus AND to top it off in 2 weeks I'll be stuck again (only this time it's 30 hours not 30 minutes)!
Chris

A whole new blogging frontier

Why on earth would I want to do this? What on Earth is THIS!?! This my friends is one more effort to really try to be a better blogger, this is mobile blog. Yeah so I've known about this for over a year but have never used it- guess I'll try it. After all, I have about an hour an change every day on the bus - rather than just read I guess I could take the time to post up a few blogs. We'll see!

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

Neglect, Self-Respect, and a second thought on Wall-E

Yes we're neglectful- there's a reason we don't have kids- mostly I would probably be the dad that forgot to pick the kids up or drop the kids off, or some random combination thereof- heck if I can't keep up with a blog how can I keep up with other things that don't just live at a certain URL. That aside, I feel like I want to address Wall-E first. See I finally put my finger on it: They just kinda took half a movie and stretched it out to let us believe they had a whole story. Now I know there are a lot of people who are all up in arms about the fact that it seems to be making this large statement about enviromentalism/capitalism/Americanism- my thoughts- fine, whatever, I don't care if you have an agenda to push- by all means push it- just don't forget to entertain me while you're doing it. That's just it- the story took the super easy way out. They didn't bother filling in plot holes, they didn't explain many of the aspects that we see, heck they even contradict themsleves during the movie! That's the reason I feel cheated. Yeah, the funny part is that this movie was conceived years ago (same time Toy Story, Monsters Inc., Finding Nemo, and several others were discussed) so do I feel that they were setting out to make a social commentary? No. Am I bothered by the political issues presented? No. The opinion of one group is just that, the opinion of them. To be upset by it would be to contradict everything that I have been taught at home, and in the church. I'm sure many who read this blog agree with what they present, and I am not an anti-enviromentalist by any stretch of the imagination (sorry to break it you but I also don't think that pollution is gonna end the world- maybe spiritual pollution but that's a whole other ball of wax); no, I'm bothered because they just didn't bother to develop a complete story, instead they kinda take the easy way out, and then just end the movie. Ehhh. Not on the same scale as something as great as Toy Story or, for me especially, The Incredibles. I feel that maybe there's a reason this was the last of those movies discussed at that fateful luncheon to be developed- maybe they just didn't have the complete story, and knowing how good they are (were?) they figured, "Hey, we can still do this!" Maybe I'm wrong- I hope I'm not- because I would hate to see the end of the Pixar reign of nothing but quality come to a close. But see here's the thing: Alicia and I saw the first standees and teasers for this a year or two ago at Disneyland and even then I was apprehensive, as was she. Seems my spidey sense for movies hasn't completely left me after 9 years of being movie theater-free. I'm also optimistic because of the short at the beginning- in my honset opinion it was THE BEST short Pixar has ever done. It felt complete, like a whole story, and not just a single joke or a tech demo. So maybe that is a sign of good things still to come. I sure hope so.
Wow- that took a lot longer than it should have. So on a different front... we're hoping to have some pictures posted in the next few days of random San Diego, so that'll be nice I suppose.
I've been surfing a lot- I plan on doing a post on that in the near future about new additions/subtractions from the surf catalog. Until then...

Chris

Sunday, June 29, 2008

Movie Madness

So we haven't been to the movie theater since the third Pirates movie came out. This week we went twice. And remembered why we don't go to the theater. A)Chris managed a theater and notices every flaw in both the theater and the movie. B)Movies are super expensive. C) The biggest reason of all- Movies generally are not that great.
This week we saw The Hulk, which wasn't a bad movie, but not worth $25 to see. It didn't help that it was out of focus the entire movie either. But it was fun because we went with some friends, but I can watch a movie with friends at home, and on Blu-Ray so its never out of focus unless it should be. Saturday we went and saw Wall-E, the new Pixar movie. How can you go wrong with a studio that has a pretty much flawless record? That's what we thought. But I was really disappointed. Not to say that the movie wasn't good, but it didn't live up to Pixar standards. The animation was awesome, don't get me wrong. But I feel like Pixar stopped short of what the movie could be. I loved the robot parts, they were funny and very entertaining. I would still recommend seeing it for sure, but don't get your hopes too high.

Weight loss...

So it's been a good week. A really good week. Since April my assignment at work was to change my classroom so that it would pass the state re-inspection. Unfortunately, changing my classroom did not involve much, only changing the attitudes and habits of my fellow teachers. Needless to say, it was somewhat stressful. And some of you may know that I don't necessarily do well with a lot of stress. Thank goodness that Chris is so patient. Anyway the state inspector came back for his re-inspection this last Tuesday. And the final verdict? We passed. Hooray! The best weight loss program ever. I haven't felt lighter in a long time. Anyway that's my big news. Now I get to apply and interview for the job that I've been doing for the last 3 months and get my classroom ready for re-accreditation. Sounds like fun.

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

alphaBETA

So I got an invite to a very exciting Beta to a game I am not officially allowed to mention but is of the same family as R6. I'm very excited as I always love being in betas, but more importantly I LOVE TC games. I'll be sure to post some generic notes about the game- we'll call it something entirely different... sorry I have to be semi-mysterious- I had to sign an NDA (yeah already, I know!). I'll, umm, communicate more as I get to start. I don't even get the game till the 15th, but still...guess I know what I'll be doing that week.
-Chris

Monday, June 9, 2008

And the mystery visitor of two weeks ago is...

Nick the Alfajor! Congrats to Nick on winning our lovely prize of a 10 days/11 nights trip to San Diego. Where he enjoyed sun, surf, sand, mexican food, WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2007, lots of time doing nothing, and of course lovely Knotts Berry Farm (home of the world famous Boomerang and The Jaguar). For more details on the exciting trip stay tuned as we recap the highs and lows of Nick, the now graduated from High School, Waite's visit to see his favorite sister and brother-in-law.
-Chris

Thursday, June 5, 2008

Why I hate the Nintendo DS

So the irony of this post is that I don't really hate the DS- per se. (I'm not even allowed to hate the DS b/c A) I play games on Alicia's sometimes and B) Oh yeah, I bought Alicia's for her for her birthday)What I hate is what it's doing to certain video games... allow me to explain: See I'm not the guy who thinks that if it's not "HardCore," it's crap. That's not me at all. In fact some of my favorite games are deffinetly not hardcore, but see this is where I have a problem. The following is a quote from Ubisoft UK managing director Rob Cooper:
"Sony needs to show us a bit more about what its plans are to convince the publisher to invest lots more money into it. Especially when you've got the DS selling at such a tremendous pace.

"I suppose it's almost too technical for the casual person, those that are buying the DS at the moment, who want a few buttons and not a lot more. It's so simple what [Nintendo] has done. That's where I think Sony has gone a little bit too complicated, they've over-specced it, the price is too high and they need to go back to the drawing board and start again," he added. (From Gameindustry.biz)

See my problem is this- I don't want less buttons. I don't care! I can handle the fact that my current controllers have...(let's see... 1,2,3,4,5...13 plus 3 joysticks)13 plus 3 directional pads of some sort. Heck, I play PC games they have...(let's see...1,2,3,4...100+) something like 104 or so keys- WHY do I need less!?! Furthermore, I love my PSP- part of the reason I own it is b/c it is technologically superior, heck I can use it to wacth a Movie, and TV show, play several games, and listen to music, all with out having to carry anything more than the PSP itself (yes I can do all of those off a single Memory stick that I load into the side of it, no movies, no game discs, nothing but the PSP alone). Most of the reason we bought our PS3 was b/c the Blu-Ray looks so nice on our TV, heck the Wii didn't even offer the ability to listen to a CD or DVD on it. So what this guy is saying is that the rest of the industry should do just like Nintendo did with both the DS and the Wii (like I said here's the irony, cause you guessed it- we own a Wii too) but what if we don't always want the kind of garbage that is put out on the Wii and DS (Case in point: Petz series from the fool who opined this to begin with- I'd like to add that I think it is a travesty that we are teaching an entire generation of kidz that it's OK to spell using Z as the letter to indicate plurality... oh yeah and that whole Dogz Fashion...ughhh shoot me now!). So where am I going with this? Easy.

While I don't mind the collection of games that inhabit the Wii and DS and I really like the idea that more people are "in to" games and all things that go along with video games, I really wish that certain publishers would stop saying that we are all the same and that the games that might appeal to my niece, Madison, or to my parents (proud Wii owners, I might add), should be the games that I want to own. Cause so help me if all I can buy 2 years from now is Petz and stinking Raving Rabbids I'm gonna sell all my video games and take up a new hobby like cross-stitching.

I have my own abilities and sometimes I like the complex and harder games, sometimes I like technology that is forward thinking not just two palm pilots merged together. Ah well what a world we live in when the white boy in SoCal has to cry out that he too is an individual and can think and act apart from everyone around him.

-Chriz

Monday, June 2, 2008

Famous, almost

This is just a realy funny side story. For those of you who may have hoped that I had grown up (read matured) and mellowed out after serving some time in the bishopric- lemme direct you to the following interaction I recently had with a friend of ours.

I am so funny


-Chris

Fired!

Yup I might as well be because I apparently have no time to blog (I'm thinking of a good reason why Lish can't- I'll let you know when it hits me). In the mean time you should know that I have started on 3 posts only to have the thought train either A) Leave the station without me or B) Derail mid-post. Kinda sucks. So a quick catch up on all the ongoings: In the last 2 weeks I have: WORKED, worked, worked oh yeah and had to go into work once or twice. Lots of church (as usual) and then there was the random visitor. I'll have to let you know more about him in a future post. But in the mean time... oh yeah, played some video games (not too much believe it or not), went to Knotts Berry Farm- flashback to 20 years ago, got beat up something fierce at KBF, stupid Boomerang, surfed a couple times, been informed of the dangers of crabs (don't ask you don't want to know), hung out with friends, BBQ'd, took care of some shopping, including the addition of 15 or so 12-packs of the new dew flavors, and even got in a baseball game. Most of said activities were directly or indirectly a result of the visitor.
Well I gotta run- I'll convince Lish to post later or something.
-Chris

Monday, May 19, 2008

Back in the Game

So aside from the lack of posts for awhile (funny thing is I have 3 incomplete posts just chillin') I decided to scratch down the happenings. I'm back in the game. What does that mean? Well see when I moved to SD I decided that I wanted to surf, no matter what. It happened, fairly quickly I might add. I bought a board within weeks and I was out within days and riding. Problem was I bought a damaged board. I know, I know, how bad? Well I thought I got it fixed with some Solar Resin- turns out there was more damage than I knew about. So I rode the pants off the board for about a year and change, then it happened- the bulge. See overtime you get seawater into the foam and it expands. So I had to bow out, sure I rode a couple more times, and it was all good, but in the end... yeah I had to stop riding. Then there was the whole getting boards to the beach, etc. that I just didn't have time to do, esp since I'd use the cherokee to transport, and it was a nightmare sometimes. So then we bought Blue Steel and found that we could get a Thule Roof rack through Chev for CHEAP. So we bought. And then I used some savings and a 20% off and got a surf rack- mind you this is the best rack I could envision: ease of use, secure, fast. It's sweet. So now the issue is no longer transport it's boards. So I took up my friend Natalie on her offer to buy her board. Now those of you who know me well know that I have a scar in between my eyes from a surfing accident- yeah well guess I bought the board that gave that too me. Figure it's part of me, and I it. So I ran it down to Joe Roper's and am having the nose fixed up on it some. Oh yeah, and we decided to utilize Costco's sweet softy sale. Got an 8' softy for next to nothing. So we now have 2 boards AND a way to get to the beach. So I guess it's not just me in the game, time to haul Lish out again. Plus, on the bonus side, Jeff has convinced me to go out some Sat mornings with them... we'll see how I do. Anywho, I'm back and ready to ride with all my free time, er something like that.

Wednesday, May 7, 2008

The Proof is in the Pudding, Pt. II

So you know I don't think I could have asked for more cooperation to drive home my whole UCSD vs. SDSU than the last week has provided me. First of all was the Taekwondo story (here) and now there is THIS! Now this thing is so big that I know people back East that heard about it. We're talkin' CNN AND Fox News big. You know drugs are really, really bad, but drugs mixed with weapons and lots of cash- yeah now you're just plain out of control. It's times like this that I want to make sure I distance myself from SDSU even more. Btw- as a corollary to what I started out talking about which was sports teams don't help you have a better school always... read THIS. That's right another reason that I wish people would just forget that SDSU is even part of San Diego. Now just in case there's any questions
A) I do NOT go to SDSU
B) I do NOT do crack
C) I do NOT involve myself in any way with ANY SDSU sports team.

The funniest part to all this is how I was decried by people I know when earlier this year Alicia and I posted about Foreign Frat Parties with Guns, turns out that we had it all wrong. Not only do frat boys have guns in the army but they apparently LEARN how to have such ragin' parties at home when they go to school at SDSU. Yup, so you have Local Frat Parties with Guns! Good thing that whole frat boy stereotype is so off-basis, huh!?!
-Chris

Resistance is Futile, OR My Gas is More Expensive the Your Gas

I have been holding out. Fighting, if you will. And I dodged the bullet one more time, but I don't know how much longer I can take it. I may have to do the unthinkable and put in $4/gal gas pretty soon. Currently the average in SD is something like $3.98. Too bad only Costco hits below that #. Seems that every where I look it's $4.03 or more. But I found a sweet little oasis of $3.95 where I barely could bring myself to put in 3 gallons- I did it mostly cause I needed to wash the windows and that was best way to do it. Good thing I did, cause it rained today- I didn't even have to wash the whole car just the windows and POOF! rain. I'm good. Now I just wish I could get the same kind of results with my science.

Friday, May 2, 2008

The Proof is in the Pudding

So in following with my post earlier today about success. I got on the bus this afternoon and lo and behold the headline of the school newspaper read, "Top Taekwondo Teams Can't Bully UCSD at Nationals." Yup seems UCSD is a national powerhouse in individual AND team taekwondo - GO TRITONS (yes that really is our mascot)!
Now if only i can convince them that we need a science decathlon...
-Chris

Raise in Rent

So when I always pay rent, the first thing I think is how I could be owning a house in UT or ID right about now. So imagine how much worse it was when we got the official news that our rent would be going up again, not too much mind you, but still that's a few hundred more a year. However, it all seems to even out. How you ask? Easy. I got a call from Michelle (my sister) it was currently snowing at their house in UT. Meanwhile I was down in La Jolla enjoying SUN and about 68, with a slight breeze, just enough to keep it enjoyable.
Well when you put it that way...
Maybe I will just shut up about the rent.
-Chris

The Measure of Success

A funny thing happened to me today while I was looking at my e-mail. I realized that success is such a subjective thing. Now I know what you're thinking- Well, DUH! But I mean it is something that is REALLY only in the eye of the beholder. The perfect example comes from me moving to San Diego. Whenever I told people in Utah that I was going to UC San Diego they immediately said, "Oh yeah, San Diego State, I had a nephew who went there." (mind you this nephew was legally stupid as a rock) And I would try to help them understand that UCSD is NOT SDSU (I know that dang trickery of including San Diego in the name of two universities within the same city). See here's the thing SDSU is ummm great as a... place to go get edumacated but the truth is it is part of the notoriously under-performing Cal State school system. They're good, but it's like a half scoop of vanilla ice cream- yeah it gets the job done, but really? Whereas UCSD is part of the better-performing UC system, which at least means A) We're bigger and B) We have more money- plus it means professors actually want to teach here. Now there are other major differences- UCSD is in La Jolla, at the beach; SDSU is in La Mesa, near... lots of poor Mexicans? But that aside- why is that no one has ever heard of UCSD or seems to think anything of it? Because according to how they measure success UCSD is a failure. See most people think of universities and immediately think, " When was the last time I heard that name in an athletic event?" And this is where UCSD REALLY fails. See UCSD has several national champion teams, as well as many top 25 teams (something like 10 or so), trick is there all in rich SoCal sports. I mean a national championship in Ultimate Frisbee is really cool, but who follows it? How bout our top 5 mens AND womens POLO teams? yeah thought so- hey we also are top 5 WATER POLO. Oh yeah, and lest we forget that we a have a national individual champion going to our school, for fencing (the sport NOT the selling of hot goods). And the list goes on - Nat'l Champ Surf Team and Individual, equestrian top 25... you get the idea. But see that means nothing because we don't belong in the Big Ten in football, or belong to the ACC in basketball. So then the next question is this: How does your team's performance help you get a better degree? Well Iguess there's the money that comes in- money is always good- but see UCSD received the most research dollars of ANY public institution last year, oh yeah and we're a top school in science both training and research (we're always top 3 usually #1). See for me as a scientist I think that THIS is success. Too bad some people in my own family still don't know where I go to school...
Yes I know this seems to come across as me bragging and making myself better, and in a lot of ways it is. But it is also this moment that I realized that when I chose UCSD I had already started to realize the real success lies in where can I get the best PhD, not where can I catch the best game. Now don't get me wrong, I think sports are great, heck I would have been one of the first to buy tickets to games had I gone to Wisconsin, but I don't regret choosing school first.
-Chris

Wednesday, April 30, 2008

I'm so much Hotter than YOU!

Yes you heard it here first- I'm hotter than alls ya alls. Course the only way to measure accurately is to use a dosemetry badge and ring. Which according to mine is hotter than anyone else I know. That's the perks from doing 5 radioactive experiments in the last month or so. You know (well actually you don't otherwise this conversation wouldn't be happening), I don't like radioactive stuff. I play with really nasty stuff too. Today, again, for the fourth time, in about 6 weeks, I used 64Cu, which is really hot copper. So hot it was at 21 mCi when it shipped- creepier still- it was only 1 ul that they sent me. HOT!!! To put this in perspective: I was exposed to the equivalent of 6 or so hours of continuous MRIs (you know the medical imaging technique). Yeah kinda bad. Good thing I use a LEAD VEST of DEATH, 100's of pounds of lead blocks, lots of plexiglass (the 1/2" stuff nonetheless) and of course my safety goggles. So NO, I'm not going to be glowing just yet- but let me tell you what a pain this is to use this kind of precautionary equipment. First of all- I have to wear PANTS and SHOES- yes, I know, I work in a lab, but see it's in San Diego... look even PIs here wear flip-flops to lab (and yes shorts too). Then I have to wear a lab coat ALL DAY. Oh yeah and then double glove & the whole 25lb lead apron dragging you down. Then you have to work around these stacks of lead and plexi- all while listening to a Geiger counter go non-stop. Now do for 8 hours or so- rushing b/c the half-life of this stuff is 12 hours so no time to waste- except you spill a drop and it may take you 2 hours to clean it up so be VERY careful, very FAST, all in lead.
On an ironic side note that super hot Cu that I receive comes overnight via FedEx- best part according to the manifest, it is safe to be carried on passenger planes. Hmm, makes you wonder what your luggage is really sitting next to in the belly of that plane, huh?
Now everyone has a wonderful insight into why I can't stand radioactive days. But hey, all in the name of science.
-Chris

Monday, April 28, 2008

Back in the Saddle Again

Yup, finally found a few spare minutes in which I didn't want to just lie in front of the TV or on the bed. So a quick catch up on all that's been going on. Well, Lish is in full swing with her "new" work- for those who haven't talked physically with us you may not know that for the time being Alicia is serving as the interim Lead teach at work. That's the "good" part. The bad part is that they got to this point b/c things were so far down the tubes that the other lead lead them to fail their recent evaluation from some state honcho. So they have asked Alicia to please serve as a temporary lead in an effort to steer the ship that is their class from the rocks of absolute failure. So for the last few weeks Alicia has been serving as the lead for her class, far more stress than she had hoped, but that being said everyone who comes in says how much better the class is since she took over. So... in true Alicia fashion she is doing awesome and will lead the class forward towards a passing score.
Now for me, hmmm what to say? I've been working like a dog in an effort to get some serious data so that I can get another paper out. I'm getting mixed results some good, some bad, and quite a few - huh? Yup I don't even pretend to know the answers to some of what I'm seeing. I am however getting sick of all my radioactivity work. If it's not [Cu64] it's [C14]. Which by consolation will allow me to really screw with any isoradioanthropochronologist b/c he'll never be able to carbon date me. So anywho, yeah lots and lots of work. Which leads me to my rant (didn't think I'd post without one did you?). I'm really frustrated with the narrow-mindedness of people. I wish that people, random ones from Church and family members alike, would learn how real PhD programs work (real vs PhD lite (Lite= something like a PhD in PoliSci or English)). Why do I wish they'd learn? Cause I'm sick of having to explain the non-answer to the question: So, how much longer? I don't know. How much longer you gonna live? Don't know? Why not? Same reason for why I don't know how much longer I'm gonna be. Now that isn't saying I'm not gonna get it till I die. It's just that there are a LOT of factors. It's not like I just have to take some classes and write a paper or two (that would be a PhD lite) I have to do ground breaking research and LOTS of it. And in case you failed your science classes, research doesn't always work. So how than in the cosmos am I supposed to know what will and won't work? If I knew I wouldn't be doing research would I? So then the question is how much more research? Well exactly twice as much as it is half. I don't know- I'm hoping year or so more. Reality says whenever I have made my contribution to science.
Well I'm done.
Good to be posting again. Maybe, I'll try again tomorrow.

Friday, April 18, 2008

AVA Review- A collection of 2nd timers

Yeah I know, I said 4 weeks ago I'd talk about the show. Eh, you get what you pay for (that's right cheap-skates!). So the deal is, for those of you who don't know, AVA is the abbreviation for Angels and Airwaves which is a band featuring the singer/guitarist of the now-defunct Blink 182, Tom DeLong, along with guitarist David Kennedy (Boxcar Racer, Hazen Street), drummer Atom Willard (the Offspring, Rocket from the Crypt), and bassist Ryan Sinn (the Distillers). So Tom, an SD native, got some of his friends together and created a band whose main aim is Emotional Rock, AKA ambient rock, or in otherwords, sensory based rock. It is a type of music that has more invested energy than your typical generic rock. The songs have meaning and often times convey real feelings or sensory of more than just auditory value. What does all this mean? Well it sounds kinda strange to hear it described, but if you listen it kinda invokes this idea that you should be hearing it as a soundtrack to a rock opera, or in some huge stadium. Often times the band cites 80's U2, Springsteen, The Police, Pink Floyd, etc. as influence for how to construct the album. Anywho, it's good post-punk music that shows a very emotional side of Tom and co.
Alicia is a big fan of their stuff, as am I, so that should tell you something. With two albums out they aren't exactly huge, but certainly not small time either.
The show/experience went down at SOMA- which is in its third iteration. The venue, having been there a few times now, is very much what you would expect to find in the mid-90's SoCal punk scene. Dark, concrete, no seats, smallish stage, enclosed, and above it all- in a strip mall next to the Sports Arena (a huge Delta Center-esque venue).
The opening acts were a mixed bag. Some bands that I could have passed on and one that was a new found goodness. "Ace Enders and a Million Different People," is a band consisting of a collection of distinct people all supporting the main singer/songwriter/guitarist- who ironically enough is called... Ace Enders. You may know him best as half of the songwriting/singing effort that fronted the now defunct band "The Early November." Good stuff, slightly more chill than emo and yet more demanding than elevator music. It had a nice sound, so good, in fact, that we picked up the album while we were there (hard to say no to a CD and T-shirt for $15). The next opening band was a group called, "The Color Fred." Featuring, (you guessed it) ex-band, "Taking Back Sunday,"'s guitarist. Ehh, folksy rock, eh. Last up was a group that I had seen several times before (couldn't place where until they said where they're from), "Meg and Dia," straight out of SLC. Well technically I think it's Draper. Anyway, whiny, ehh, so-so, could have left them too.
But then the moment finally came, the main event. Angels and Airwaves. A small stage, three flags at an angle, nothing much to it. Oh yeah and after it started LOTS OF LIGHTS AND SOUND. They were LOUD, and if I even thought I had epilepsy I would have gone into seizures like mad. Holy spinning lights, Batman.
Yeah the band played for about an hour and a half straight. It was good. Playing almost every song off both albums. They did a nice little 3 song encore just to show they could. It was a strange feeling. You could tell they enjoyed being home. But yet it felt like they were trying so hard. Maybe, because they had family and friends in the crowd they had to push harder.
So survey says: 7.5/10
Would I go again? Yes, in a heartbeat. Would I pay $50 to go? Nope. Would I recommend them to anyone? If you liked Blink, especially songs such as Adam's Song, Stay Together for the Kids, or Anthem, or if you liked the album Boxcar Racer you'll enjoy this. If not, well this isn't gonna change a whole lot of opinions. Yes there is more to them than just punk, but the root of it all is that SoCal angst.

BTW- Irony is that 3 of the 4 bands that played were all made up of defunct bands. So Alicia and I were commenting that this should be called the "Comeback Tour." I'm thinking more along the lines of, "Yet Again," or, "One More Chance Tour."

Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Wacky Wednesday!

For those of you who may not know...I spend 8 hours 5 days a week with around 23 two year olds. And although they keep me laughing most of the time, there are days (few and far between) when I wonder if I've chosen the right career. Today was one of those days. This morning was a complete disaster. No matter what I tried (or anyone else for that matter) they (the kids) insisted on running and screaming and generally ignoring anything and everything. So after nap and snack, when 10 or so of these little 'friends' (I use the term loosely at this point) decided that drums, pianos, and tambourines would be fun, I didn't figure it would do me any good to try and coerce them to stop. So as Chris so eloquently put it, "If you can't beat'em, join'em." And that's exactly what I did. I grabbed a tambourine and asked the band what they wanted to play. Before we were done 25 minutes later(that's an eternity in 2-year old time), we played about 8 encores of "Itsy Bitsy Spider" a few rounds of ABCD's (yes, that's the same as the ABC's, but I have a friend who must think the D feels left out), some "Wheels on the Bus" and "Old MacDonald" and some other songs mixed in as well. We kind of died out with Old MacDonald though. Too Bad. But after the morning we had, I was extremely impressed with myself for containing and entertaining my little friends. And in the peak of it all I think I had every child (16 at that point) either playing, singing, or watching with great interest. And any adult within a 3-mile radius was probably wondering when the sky was going to fall, but hey, we had fun right?

Friday, April 4, 2008

Tickle This!

So last week on our way home from doing baptisms with the 2 youth in our ward we went to WalMart to pick up a few things. I will never again go to WalMart on a Friday night, it was scary. I don't think anybody there had anything else going on at all, because I've never seen so many S...L...O...W... people in my entire life. Then, every time I turned right my shopping cart sounded something like "ka-thunk, ka-thunk, ka-thunk." The worst shopping cart I've had in a while. But on a Friday night after a long week, it was almost entertaining and I wasn't about to go try to switch it out. As we're meandering through the toiletries section looking for hair goop, I turn around a corner and WHAM! there it is. A very, very, overweight woman wearing a bright red T-shirt with Elmo on it. But the worst part? Her shirt said very plainly "Tickle This!" Ewww. No thanks. Really, no thanks. After I had cleared a path and my head we wandered to the electronics/DVD/video game section ( a must at any store on any given shopping trip). As I walked past the cashier stand I noticed a tiny palm tree affixed to the corner of the booth. Rubberbanded to the tree was a very small Michaelangelo figure. I took a picture but I haven't retrieved it from my phone yet, but I will post it as soon as I can. Very entertaining. I still haven't been able to complete poke out my mind's eye enough to get rid of 'Tickle This!," but what can you do?

WaHoo for Map Packs!

Yes we've been AWOL for a week. Yes there has been crazy amounts of stuff going on, yes we'll try to get it all posted this weekend. But in the mean time. Call of Duty 4- my absolute vice in the world right now has just released their expansion map pack!!! Sweet there goes another week of my life!
-Chris