Showing posts with label Memories. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Memories. Show all posts

Monday, November 1, 2010

Junker Car

So last year when Lish wrecked the Aveo (yeah, yeah, not her fault) we got an awesome situation- we got back 99.x% of the original value of the car. Essentially we had equity in the car. So we bought a new car. As is the norm when you buy a new car we had a work order on it, including tint and such. So during that time the dealer put us in a rental car. PIECE OF JUNK!














It was an '08 Chev Cobalt bare-bones. It couldn't have been more stock had it tried. So I decided to enjoy it. The plastic (not vinyl, straight up blown mold plastic) dash was awesome. I'm pretty sure I could have sanded a 2x4 on it, it was so "texturized."The ghetto trash plastic E-brake surround and the super sweet shifter with vinyl boot that was coming off was just the icing on the garbage cake.

It's a shame that the car bottoms out so easily at 75 and it's also a shame that it'll only go 55ish in 3rd with an RPM around 4K... little things to think about.


Monday, March 29, 2010

At some point in my life...

So for as long as I can remember cars have always been a huge part of my life. Heck at last count I've owned 2 dozen cars in my short driving life. My dad is one of the greatest mechanics I know and can probably fix anything pre-2000 without the manual. For years I have slowly tried to glean as much out of him as I can. I remember many times when my sister and I were younger my dad would take us off-roading in whatever we happened to own. In fact he and I beat the crap out of a Suzuki Sidekick multiple times out past Kamas (ask me for details). And if it's of any doubt, just ask all my friends about the crappy jeeps I've hauled to and from Moab, around Logan, and even throughout UT.
My dad and I have always wanted to race in a SCORE-style race (think Baja 500 and Baja 1000) and a few years ago I came about a league that I may get into, but that's for another day. Then I went South for a couple years and came into Rally Cross. I drove and rode in several Rally Racers and even saw a WRC event while I was down there. It's roughly the same as baja, just in cars.
So where is all this going? Well see I read this article and all I could think is- someday I want to drag my dad down there and pull something this crazy off for ourselves. In the meantime I will just enjoy that somewhere there's a guy living his dream and writing enough about it for the rest of us to laugh at.


~Chris

Friday, February 26, 2010

Seriously!?! Welcome back to 1996

So I was reading on U2 . com this morning that apparently the opening acts for the band during their tour in 2010 will include Lenny Kravitz!
Wow, I didn't even know he still did music, let alone toured... to all of those going to SLC to see the show may I suggest the following apparel:

Tear-away track pants. C'mon you know you still have some in the closet.
Maybe a leftover grunge t-shirt. Something from the vein of mudhoney or maybe a classy Alice-in-Chains shirt.
Anything Tommy Hilfiger
Baby t-shirts for the girls
If you're feeling ambitious you could rock some early goth looks. Keep in mind that you need to make sure you keep to the goth, as tempted as you might be to go Emo.
A Titanic hat or shirt. Something classy, like Leo leaning over the edge with the caption, "I'm the King of the World."
Maybe something more relevant like say... an, "Oh Behave!" Austin Powers shirt. (While whistling, "That Thing You Do.")
Or maybe you're edgy and you bought the, "Show Me the Money," shirt (Good on you for sticking it to the man and supporting that hot, young actor Thomas Cruise)

Hmm lets see what else...**Rummages through closet and looks in laundry hamper for last week's outfits**

Ahh yes, one last one for ya:
A nice Green Day Nimrod T-shirt under your cardigan, some super low-riding jeans and maybe some extra long hair. Yup that was what I wished I was wearing.
Oh, and throw on your Starter jacket if it gets cold that evening. Something classy like a University of Miami (You know the 'Canes) one.
Then get ready to sing all the awesomeness of, "Are You Gonna Go My Way?"

Cause, boy howdy, I can't believe how awesome the opening acts for 2010 360 tour are!!!

Chris

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Long Lost Friends

So over the past few years we've made and left some great friends and I've been quite possibly the world's second worst person at staying in contact (Lish is first cause, um.... yeah, she just is) with everyone. So if you've found our blog it means you actually remember us- if yo're dying to know more just drop us a line in the comments section (please for your own privacy you don't have to post your e-mail addy) and we're gonna really strive to get in contact with everyone- it'll be great!!! Anywho, in the mean time just feel free to read on about our lives and the rants that I so often post.

~Chris

Friday, March 21, 2008

Back to Vegas- a look at a game I shouldn't want but do

Just a quick heads-up to those of you who game. R6 Vegas 2 is out. This is so bad... what do I do- do I long for the joy of playing R6 Vegas 2 which is sure to be even better than R6V, and by doing so know that I am forsaking my extremely capable guy on CoD4, OR do I say, "Well there's always a few months from now for R6V2, and honestly will I want to play MP?" Cause see all along I never thought I'd ever play MP much, not with friends. Turns out when friends aren't near by, or readily available I still hop in to a few rounds of CoD4- now Alicia knows that this is usually a bad choice cause I just get mad at the people playing, but yet like a glutton looking for another whipping, I just keep playing. THIS btw is how CoD4 became a time-suck beyond all others. So my concern is do I want to try a new game (which I know I'll love b/c I'm a R6 addict, even more than CoD- thanks to Ed, who got me stuck on R6 to begin with).
See here's where I have to wax sentimental for a minute. R6 is where I cut my teeth in LAN partying. What exactly does this mean? Well let me show what 2:00 AM on a weekend in the TownHouse may look like:













So on top of just the normal great gameplay and all, there's this whole... "I Heart R6" and it brings back great memories on top of it all.
So there's the conundrum. To buy or wait? Chances are I'll wait- I've got lots else to do, but still it is nagging at me.

BTW- To make matters worse I do have a gift card to buy at least part of it... man oh man, what do I do?